Tags

, , , , , , ,

DSCN1078

Hi foodies!

Today is Wednesday and I know most ofbus are already living in Friday because weekend is when most of the fun things happen including boiling groundnuts,  lol! I went straight to the point today didn’t I?

Most of us buy it in traffic for N100 a milk tin, I have no problem with that because I buy it too from time to time just to keep my mind off traffic. There are also times when I I’m awake late into the night and though I’m not hungry I need something interesting to watch a movie with, you know what I mean? I know you know 😉 . Snacking healthy can be a challenge especially mid night snacking.  Eating after 7pm means the food will most likely not digest before 10pm which is most peoples bedtime, this helps give pot belly now imagine eating snacking at 10pm ! Healthy snacking in order words is the only to go when you feeling like eating and a late night TV program. There are enough summer foods to help one of which is groundnuts which is still in season though slightly more expensive if you are buying it in bulk. I usually buy a small custard bucket at a time which I cook 2-3 times.

Boiling groundnuts is a bit tricky,  it tends to over cook and get soft very fast so over time I have devised an easy way of ensuring its slightly salty, crunch and erm….can groundnuts be referred to as delicious?  Lol!. The first time I boiled groundnuts it turned out so soft it couldn’t shell properly because even the shell was soft! I have since learnt.

Raw groundnuts

Raw groundnuts

 

Groundnuts sold here in Lagos are usually red with small seeds that seem dry but the moment they are cooked, the same seeds turn light purple or pinkish red, become plump and fill the shells.

Cooked and light purple

Cooked and light purple

 

When I lived in the north I loved the white ones common there but since I moved to Lagos the red/purple ones have stolen my heart away! 🙂 .

Most common in the north

Most common in the north

 

Now let’s do some sharing…

 

Here we go..

Ingredients :

1 Derica uncooked groundnuts

1 tablespoon salt

Water

Unwashed

Unwashed

Method :

Wash the groundnuts thoroughly to get rid of the sand.

Washed

Washed

Fill a pot halfway with water, add the salt and bring water to boil.

Pour in the washed groundnuts,  they will float but that’s okay, once cooked they all sink.

IMG_20140903_025932

Floating

Boil for 10 miniutes then turn off heat.

They sink once cooked

They sink once cooked

Check to see how soft the groundnut is, if its as soft as you want it to be drain from the hot water immediately but if its still too crunchy then leave it to continue cooking in the hot water. I usually prefer to allow it soak in the hot water because that way it’s able to absorb more salt.

Once the water is cooled, drain the groundnuts and enjoy!

Cooked and ready for you!

Cooked and ready for you!

Easy right? Told you so! 😀

Azu 🙂 .