Tags

, , , ,

Hi there!

This is Clara’s Corner first product review 🙂 , I want to share with us today a product I have come to love, it’s uses, benefits and recipes.

20140312_133341

20140312_142158

I use coconut milk alot in most dishes, sauces, gravies and desserts. When I make fresh coconut milk I save the flesh and use it in granola, even if all the milk is gone from it, I still benefit from the fibre.

It also contains vitamin C, vitamin E, vitamin B along with minerals such as iron, selenium, sodium, calcium and magnesium.

Coconut milk is also great for healthy hair and skin, when a particular procedure is followed you get coconut oil feom it which is equally good for the skin.

According to Livestrong.com coconut milk contains a particular acid that has antibacterial, antifungal and antiviral properties which naturally fight flu and colds.

Coconut milk is also lactose free and can be a great substitute for cows milk.

When I’m not making my coconut milk, I use a particular canned brand called Ma Ling Coconut Milk. It really rich and creamy and does a great job of thickening sauces when I don’t want to use corn flour.

Its available in most supermarkets and usually within a price range of N240-N300.

20140312_142259

20140310_185638

20140310_185750

There are at least two or three other popular brands in the market but I prefer this one.

Here are a few reasons why:

Its thick and creamy. Ideal to thicken sauces and also adds great coconut flavours to your dishes instead of using corn flour.

Due to its creamy consistency,  I use in in ice creams and skip whipped cream all together and I still get a lovely creamy texture.

The very obvious reason….it saves time and effort when you need to churn out a dish real quick.

When I need only coconut cream,  I chill the unopened can of coconut milk for 1 hour, then open the can without shaking it. Most of the cream comes up to the top of the can leaving the coconut water at the bottom of the can.

It keeps well in the freezer up to 1 month. I store remaining milk in small plastic containers and thaw anytime I need to use it. It sometimes has small lumps in it after the second week in the freezer but once you add it to the dish it dissolves, thickens and flavours the dish like it never went into the freezer at all!

20140312_143632

It’s a really great milk to use when you don’t have the time to make it fresh.

Here are some recipes I have used it in with great results.

Chicken Curry

Beef and green pepper chilli

Chicken strips and baby corn sauce  rather than use water to dissolve the coconut powder, replace with 1 cup coconut milk.

Recipes coming soon!

Chicken Butternut Caserole

Chicken Butternut Caserole

Jolly Jollof

Jolly Jollof

Coconut Avocado Ice cream

Coconut Avocado Ice cream

Hope you’ve enjoyed this post!

Join me on Friday for another part of Caro the Foodies story!

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Azu 🙂 .

Points to note: when using canned foods to cook please be sure to check expiry date before purchase is made. Don’t store any left over milk in the can, pour into a plastic or glass container and store in the freezer.