Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hiya!

I know things have been slow on the blog, I apologise for that. Lots of changes have been made to my daily routine, still trying to adjust.

There’s a lot of buzz about losing weight as is with January of every year. The latest term is #fitfam 😀 great motivational word, I’m for eating healthy, delicious and healthy. Though not going all #fitfam crusade but todays recipe is a healthy option, an all time favourite- pizza but with less calories than your regular pizza.

Eating an apple a day is one of my day to day routine that I don’t even think about it, I just do it. Recently, I started making fruit smoothies on a weekly basis. Mostly a combination of pineapple,  watermelon and cucumber.  In December,  my Mum inlaw made a similar juice then added garlic and ginger, it was simply delicious! I hardly remember to add that to mine, a friend told me that fruits loose their vitamins once juiced so should be drunk immediately,  while this is true, living in a place like Lagos and having the erratic power supply in Nigeria makes it impossible to maintain a certain kind of lifestyle.  So the only option of having fruits on a daily basis is to juice/blend and then store in small bottles, this means risking losing some vitamins but on the bright side, the fibre content and most the minerals stays intact. Recently in order to retain as many vitamins as possible,  I add orange juice and a little lemon juice. I will do a post on that soonest so no worries.

Today however,  I’m sharing our New Years day meal. I have made a similar pizza with pita bread used popularly for sharwarma, made with chicken and yellow bell peppers,  also with less calories than regular pizza, this ones made with beef, a simple lean mozzarella pizza, which has a thin crisy crust when it’s done. It was part of what we enjoyed during the holidays, today I share it with us, enjoy!

Ingredients : ( serves 2 )

2 tortillas or flat bread – Goodies Supermarket, De’Prince Supermarket, Gbagada, Spar / Park n Shop

0.5 kg minced meat – Shoprite

1 medium green pepper

4 tablespoons tomato sauce

2 tablespoons sweet corn

4 sausages

Mozzarella cheese – Spar / Park n Shop,  Shoprite,  Goodies

1/2 cooking spoon vegetable oil

1 double Knorr cube

1/2 small onions

1 garlic clove

1 teaspoon grated ginger

2 teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce

1 small fresh pepper / atarodo

1/4 teaspoon thyme

Salt to taste

*Jalopeno sauce/ Hot sauce of your choice

DSCN5343

 

DSCN5348

Method :

Season minced meat with all the last 7 ingredients, slice the onions, grate the ginger and garlic then add  to the minced meat.

DSCN5353

Slice the sausages in rings and the green pepper in smqll cubes, set aside.

DSCN5354

Heat the oil then fry meat, tossing the whole time until its done, about 15 minutes, turn off heat then add the green pepper.

DSCN5358

Spread out tortilla wraps on a baking tray.

Evenly spread pizza sauce on the tortillas,  followed by the minced meat.

DSCN5362

DSCN5363

Add the green pepper and sausages,  sprinkle jalopeno sauce or any hot sauce of your choice for extra juiciness when the pizza is done.

DSCN5364

Grate cheese over the entire surface of the pizza of the pizza.

DSCN5366

Bake in a hot oven for 20 minutes or until cheese is all melted.

DSCN5371

Slice and enjoy!

DSCN5386

DSCN5375

DSCN5378

DSCN5388

DSCN5376

 

Azu…imagine I forgot to sign out yesterday. 🙂

 

Note: Though I haven’t tried it yet but this pizza can be microwaved because everything is cooked, the flat will simply go crisp like it would if you put it in the oven.