Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Good morning!

Most offices closed yesterday and I can imagine the excitement in homes right now, kids running around, little girls making their hair, mummy going shopping and daddy trying not to have a panic attack seeing all his money being spent, Lol!

One thing that will happen this season is visiting with loved ones, this year I have decided to share healthy recipes in addition to ijekuje ones. One of which is this honey mint salad dressing which I created and can’t have enough of. Most times when I’m developing a recipe, I go online to see what exists already, to my dismay alot of times I realise it’s already been made. The good thing about that is it gives me a chance to further challenge myself and add more condiments there by increasing its flavour profile. This recipe however, I didn’t find so I’m glad to share it as originally mine. Thanks to the Holy Spirit that kept whispering in my ear what to do, I wasn’t even so sure blending honey and mint leaves would work but I did, when I heard add lemon juice to increase its acidity,  I said to myself now that’s Siba on Food Network talking, lol! But I added the lemon juice and it was awesome. All the honey mint recipes I saw have olive oil and pepper in them and are vinaigrettes for salad, this one however is for fruit salad and I’m glad to share Clara’s Corners first fruit salad dressing.

Later today I will also upload the fruit salad I used it in, though a grape salad, you can use it with any other fruit salad. Mint pairs well in fruits, so does honey and lemon. Quick and easy, you will find all you need in Shoprite though their lemons are a bit on the high side..ok, very highly priced, so you could use local lemons like I did N50 for 1 🙂 .

Ingredients

1 teaspoon fresh mint leaves ( about 10-15 leaves)

2 tablespoons clear honey

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

DSCN4834

Method:

Wash mint leaves and pat dry.

DSCN4807

Combine mint and honey in the blender and blend for about 60 seconds or until the mint leaves are blended into tiny bits.

DSCN4808

Whisk in the lemon juice using a fork, drizzle over your fruit salad!

DSCN4809

DSCN4810

See you later today.

Azu 🙂 .

***Note: I used a cocktail blender because the honey wasn’t alot and I didn’t want to waste it. I will suggest washing thoroughly the dry part of your blender and using it especially since it’s small, it will blend it better. A hand blender will work best but I know it’s also not a common, I’m yet to get one myself hence my recommending using the dry part of your blender because of its small cup.