Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Good morning! 🙂

This was supposed to be a Mondays post but spent the day with my mentor and ahhh…was very refreshing! Though a little late, I assure you it’s worth the wait!

This recipe I created around the same time as the Zobo Syrup but have been hoarding it 😀 but in this season of  love and sharing, I’m sharing this recipe with you. I call it suya on steroids because I honeslty can’t call it anything else, that name describes the taste. It uses suya spice as the name indicates but with the addition of 3 extra ingredients and each bite just keeps you asking why you just discovered the recipe.

DSCN4855

I’m not a fan of yellow/English mustard on hotdogs, my Nigerian tongue just can’t handle it. When I saw whole grain mustard I became curious and my curiosity paid off!  You can imagine my joy when I saw it in Spar and knew I could try out some of the dishes I see on Food Network! It goes very well with beef even though a friend said she uses it in her vinaigrettes, yet to try that. The joy in my soul when she gave be a large jar of French whole grained mustard, you’d swear I was given a million bucks, 🙂 . This suya recipe is wet and juicy unlike regular suya, I enjoy it best when used as meat filling in Shawarma, today is share it with you, enjoy!

DSCN4907

Ingredients : ( serves 2 )

4 pieces Shoprite Minute Steak / tender beef cut

4 tablespoons suya spice

1 teaspoon whole grained mustard

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

1 small onion, sliced in long stips

1 teaspoon chilli flakes

1 cooking spoon vegetable oil

DSCN4849

DSCN4850

Optional ingredients if you intend making Shawarma, I used Chinese cabbage but regular cabbage will taste great as well!

DSCN4836

As Shawarma filling..I used tortilka wraps, Chinese cabbage, onions, tomatoes for extra juice, mayonnaise and thousand island salad dressing.

Method :

Wash the meat and pat dry using kitchen paper towel.

DSCN4859

Cut in thick strips then dry rub with suya spice, set it aside for about 20 minutes.

DSCN4863

Heat oil in a non – stick pan, sear the meat on both sides before turning to cook it properly.

DSCN4868

After 15 minutes or when beef is tender, add the sliced onions, chilli flakes, lemon juice and mustard.

DSCN4869

DSCN4872

Continue stirring for another 10 while it fries. Check to make sure its coooked through, turn off heat.

DSCN4875

Serve as desired….hot!

DSCN4879-1

DSCN4884

As Shawarma filling

As Shawarma filling

DSCN4904

IMG_20141223_120009

Enjoy the rest of your day!

Azu 🙂 .

**Note: I used Chinese cabbage because I buy it cheap from somewhere near my house, normal cabbage does same thing. I also used tortilla wraps which are used for buritos but regualar pita/Shawarma bread sold in Vcare Supermarket Opebi,  Goodies Supermarket and Candy store will taste just as great!