Tags

, , , , , , , ,

😦 It is with a heavy heart I write this post today…

b0c92b7745d964197de23268fe11fcb9

We all woke up to the news of the passing of Dr. Myles Monroe and oh! How my heart broke. As a young Christian reading his book ‘The power and purpose of woman’ helped me get focused. Knowing my worth and my place as a woman has kept me purpose minded till date. He definitely helped millions realise that everyone is born with a purpose and will only live joyful fulfilling it. Truly sad, but he lived a good life and I believe he’s in white now wondering why we are so sad especially since Heaven is so beautiful! 🙂  As for his beautiful wife…perhaps she wouldn’t have coped well..some things you just can’t explain. Myles and his wife sure looked like they wouldn’t have been able to live without each other…such a pretty woman.

1412878174

God remains faithful and will console their children and be a father to them. Rest in peace Dr. Myles Monroe & Mrs Ruth Monroe, God knows best.

On Saturday,  I spoke about counting calories and eating healthy. I made this salad last week and decided to share my thoughts.  One of the reasons why we get to the point where we need to watch our weight is because we eat to get full. A good meal should be savoured and if it’s filling then fine but small portions help even if you can’t count calories,  you never go wrong with small portions.

When we hear eat salad for dinner, first thing that comes to mind is it’s too light a meal and I agree. While I love to eat salad on it’s own, I also enjoy it in a bun especially when it’s stayed overnight. I make like a club sandwich but all veggie filling. I paired this one with a homemade whole wheat bun, my latest love. Whole wheat sliced bread will work but if white bread is all you’ve got at home, that’s ok too because while the white bread has a higher calorie content than whole wheat bread, the salad is super healthy so your midnight snack is well balanced.

Here’s what I did…giving an idea of how to eat a healthy filling dinner. 

Salad:

A generous bunch of lettuce, washed, dried and torn with your hands, not sliced.

4 grated carrots

1 medium sized cucumber, thinly sliced

1 medium green pepper,  chopped in cubes

1 large tomato,  sliced in rings or quartered

1/4 tin baked beans

2 hard boiled eggs

1/2 tin tuna in oil

1/4 tin sweet corn

Sliced onions *optional

DSCN4019

Method  in pictures:

Lettuce is better torn loosely with the hands than slicing with a knife

Lettuce is better torn loosely with the hands than slicing with a knife

Add on the grated carrots and diced green pepper

Add on the grated carrots and diced green pepper

Generously load on the tuna and sweet corn

Generously load on the tuna and sweet corn

Finish off with cucumbers,  baked beans,  eggs, tomatoes and onions if using

Finish off with cucumbers, baked beans, eggs, tomatoes and onions if using

I always use a dressing....

I always use a dressing….

DSCN4070

Now the fun, filling part 😉

:-)

🙂

DSCN4106

Have a great week!

Azu 🙂 .