Tags

, , , , , ,

DSCN3573

Such a cool wonderful morning isn’t it!

The past weekends heavy rain is definitely bringing on some cool harmattan like breeze, I pray it lasts till December.  Nothing like a cold hazy morning to get the holiday season going 🙂 . I certainly do like harmattan,  growing up in the north it was always hazy, cold and dry but I loved it! It was time for sweaters, heaters and lots of hot Milo! Been missing my Mum these past few days, really wish she lived long enough to see my food blog and all the orishirishi I come up with… 😦 . No sobbing this morning!

Todays recipe was certainly one of her favourites, she loved unripe plaintain porridge,  Ojoko she called it and you bet I love it too. About 3/4 weeks ago my dear Mum inlaw gave me some unripe plantain. She shared it among us as is her custom each time a bunch of plantain matures in the house. I got about 8 fingers and planned to use 4 of the Ojoko for porridge then allow the remaining get ripe and convert them to dodo, but  by the time I was done with the porridge there was a unanimous decision between my husband and I that the second batch of Ojoko should be used for porridge as well so here goes! One of my Mums favourite,  now a favourite in my home as well, enjoy!

Ingredients : ( serves 3 )

4 Ojoko (unripe plantain)

1 dry fish

4-5 pieces of beef

3 fresh red pepper ( atarodo )

1/2 cup whole crayfish

1/2 coin sized okpei ( fermented locust beans – Ibo style )

1/2 teaspoon dry Cameroon pepper

1 teaspoon pepper soup spice

Handful of curry leaves

Handful of Nchuanwu leaves ( scent leaf )

1 cooking spoon of palm oil

2 double Knorr cube

1/2 teaspoon salt

DSCN3566

Method :

Wash and season meat with Cameroon pepper and one Knorr cube,  cook until half done adding 1/2 cup of water at a time.

Wash and peel plantain, dice into small quarters,  set aside.

DSCN3581

 

DSCN3583

 

DSCN3584

Blend crayfish,  okpei and fresh pepper with 3/4 cup of water, set aside.

DSCN3589

Soak dry fish in hot water and salt to get rid of the fish bugs. Break up, rinse and set aside

DSCN3587

 

Wash both leaves separately,  don’t slice yet, set aside.

DSCN3592

Once meat is half done with about 1 cup of stock left, add the diced unripe plantain, crayfish blend, pepper soup spice, palm oil and 1 litre of water (4 cups).

DSCN3588

Season with remaining Knorr cubes and salt.

Once the plantain is soft and water reduces in half, crush some of the plaintain with the back of the cooking spoon, this helps thicken the porridge. Crush at least 1/4 of the plaintain then add the dry fish.

DSCN3597

Once it’s thickened, slice both leaves and add to the porridge, stir and turn off heat.

DSCN3599

 

DSCN3601

Dish and enjoy hot.

DSCN3608

 

DSCN3621

Have a blessed week!

Azu 🙂 .