Tags

, , , , ,

DSCN3300

Good morning!

Even though the post will probably be done by mid day 🙂 .

Trust our weekend was fun and also restful. These days I cook recipes on weekends so I have time to get other things done during the week. I’m working on the lifestyle aspect of the blog since it’s a food and lifestyle blog though the lifestyle part has been passive the past one year but will pick-up soonest by God’s grace.

Today’s recipe I have made several times in the last 2 months, I just can’t get enough of it. When I like a soup per time, I get fixated on it and eat it 2/3 times consecutively before switching to another soup. When I say 2/3 time I mean each time I cook it, I make 3 litres worth then freeze in both big and small bowls for weekly and weekend eats. By the time I have cooked it a 2nd or 3rd time I would have enjoyed it enough with plans of the next local soup to fixate on. Sometimes I don’t cook a particular soup for 3/4 months so that by the time its cooked again, it’s fresh and eaten with alot of gusto, that’s why I haven’t shared so many native soups because it all depends on what’s in vogue in my kitchen 🙂 .

On to todays recipe, quite frankly I don’t know what tribe has ogbono as it’s local delicacy but I think Ibo’s eat it alot and we have a local fruit called Ugili which have seeds that give a specie of Ogbono so…Ibo’s score on this I guess. I used dry smoked sole fish for this soup and chose not to break it up because it has flesh up to it’s head, it’s a flat fish with very few bones, mostly at it’s sides like every normal fish but I will still recommend children shouldn’t eat it. It’s surprisingly fleshy for its flatness and is best enjoyed whole in soups with alot of juice like banga, ofe nsala and ogbono. It’s usually smoked dry with no cuts on it so you don’t have to worry about fish bugs.

Now let’s dig in!

Ingredients ( 3 litres )

2 1/2 cups ground ogbono

15 pieces goat meat

4 smoked sole fish

1 medium dry fish

1 cup washed bitter leaf

2 cooking spoons of palm oil

1/2 cup whole crayfish

2/3 fresh atarodo

1 inch Okpei

1/2 teaspoon dry Cameroon pepper

2 Maggi cubes

1 Maggi crayfish cube

Water

Salt to taste

DSCN3365

 

Freshly washed bitter leaf

Freshly washed bitter leaf

DSCN3361

DSCN3315

 

DSCN3308

Method :

Wash goat meat with salt, season with Cameroon pepper,  1 Maggi cube and 1/2 cup of water if it doesn’t bring out water by itself.

Blend the fresh pepper, crayfish and Okpei in 3/4 cup water, set aside.

In the meantime use your hand to break up the ogbono powder if they are in clusters then pour 2 cups of cold or tepid water. Mix until it forms a rough paste,  set aside.

DSCN3372

Use water and a soft sponge to wash the dry smoked sole fish, be careful not to break it up.

DSCN3368

Soak the dry fish in hot water and salt, break it up and wash.

Keep an eye on the cooking goat meat and add 1/2 cup of water from time to time, once done drain from remaining meat stock and set aside.

In the same pot with the goat meat stock, pour in the crayfish blend, palm oil and 1 cup of water depending on how much meat stock is left. Let it boil for 20 minutes.

Add the ogbono paste and whisk vigorously,  the soup will be extremely thick so start by adding 4 cups of water and whisk until well incorporated.

DSCN3375

If it’s still too thick for you, add 1 cup of water at a time until its the right consistency you desire.

Add the remaining seasoning cubes and salt.

Let the soup boil for 20-30 minutes or until the soup starts sticking to the bottom of the pot.

Add the dry fish and cooked meat, allow it boil for 5 minutes.

DSCN3377

Add the bitter leaf and stir well, making sure the spoon touches the bottom of the pot each time.

DSCN3383

Then add the sole fish carefully on top of the soup dipping it in gradually.

DSCN3386

Let the soup boil for another 5 minutes then turn off heat.

Enjoy with wheat meal, semo or eba…the choices are endless 🙂 .

DSCN3406-1

DSCN3399

Azu 🙂 .