Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

DSCN1550

Hi people!

Sometime last week I shared an all time favourite- ice cream ! Rich, creamy and homemade with Domo ice cream powder. Making that recipe ensures you know exactly what you and your kids are consuming and it’s cost effective, for NGN1200.00 you get about 2.5/3 litres of creamy ice-cream.

Today’s recipe is also a favourite but prepared differently. About a month ago Zobo syrup and Zobo jam recipes popped into my head and I decided I will save them for summer time. I confess that this is one recipe that I struggled with sharing because by the time I was done I realised it can be easily commercialized. I prayed and God gave me a scripture I’m holding on to, so here I am being generous with a gift He has given me 🙂 .

Zobo leaves which traditionally is prepared as a drink is the star of this recipe paired with pineapple, ginger and cloves. This recipe makes for a fantastic topping with the ice-cream, it’s sweet, tangy and honestly delicious!  Store bought syrup and toppings taste good but making yours at home is better, controlling the sugar content is key and this syrup doesn’t need preservative because you can make and finish it as often as you wish.

Zobo or zoborodo as it’s popularly called originated from the north for us in Nigeria but is a drink that’s quite global, it’s found in United States, Asia, Europe and in Jamaica as Flor de Jamaica. Suprisingly, it’s flavoured with similar ingredients, ginger, cloves, cinnamon etc.  Zobo which is also a specie of hibiscus flower is high in Vitamin C and is believed to reduce high blood pressure.

DSCN1565

Popularly made as a cold drink in this part of the world, I was crossing from my kitchen to the parlour through my corridor when zobo syrup/jam popped into my head. I brooded over the recipes for a couple of days before I finally made them.

Today,  I share the syrup,  Enjoy!

Foods that can be enjoyed with the syrup; 

Pancakes

Donut filling (the Mr Biggs type)

Cinnamon rolls

Cupcakes with fillings

And ice cream 🙂 as the pictures suggest!

Ingredients : 1 cup

2 cups dry zobo leaves

1 1/2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger

1/2 tablespoon cloves

4 cups /1 litre water

1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons sugar

2 medium ripe pineapple

DSCN1579

Grated ginger

Grated ginger

DSCN1629

Method :

Boil zobo leaves with 1 litre of water, grated ginger, and cloves for 20 minutes.

Strain through a cheese cloth or cloth used for sieving ogi/pap, set aside.

Juice both pineapples, you should get at least 600ml from them.

DSCN1612

Over medium heat, pour 600ml zobo juice  (save the rest for Zobo jam) and 600ml pineapple juice into a clean pan, add 2 tablespoons of sugar and boil for 30-45 minutes.

DSCN1616

Monitor the syrup closely,  scrap off the sides of the pan as the syrup reduces. Once it starts boiling in thick bubbles and it coats the back of a spoon, its time to turn off the heat.

DSCN1638

DSCN1639

DSCN1631

Stir in 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence, pour into a glass bowl, allow it cool.

DSCN1662

 

DSCN1697

DSCN1675

 

DSCN1693

DSCN1691

Enjoy with your Domo vanilla ice-cream, pancakes etc 🙂 .

IMG_20140807_083140

IMG_20140807_083738

IMG_20140807_084108

IMG_20140807_084232

IMG_20140807_084433

IMG_20140807_084916

IMG_20140807_085115

Have a splendid week!

Azu 🙂 .

 

**Notes : you can double the sugar content if you want a sweeter syrup.