Tags

, , , , ,

DSCN1937-1

It’s summer time take her out for a drink and if her daddy’s rich just do what you wish….. ๐Ÿ™‚ A song I used to sing before before!

I’m truly excited about summer because it’s my time to make sweet recipes with summer as my excuse ๐Ÿ˜€ . My name is Azuka and I’m a sweet tooth! Lol!

While most families will go away on vacation, ย many others will stay back and will need to plan lots of fun activities for their kids. Monthly family budget will have to go up slightly because with kids at home they have to be kept busy -mouth busy precisely. ย Summer as a child was fun, my sister and I went for summer classes, fried chin-chin with my cousins, ate lots of gummy bears because we were not allowed to eat sweets. One summer, my Uncle To took my sister and I to spend summer holidays with him in Kaduna, we sang all through the 1 hour 30 minutes drive. I even remember the song but don’t know the name, will share it when I do.

I had such an awesome childhood, can’t wait to do same for my kids and it’s on that note I’m sharing today’s recipe. I honestly know Lagos doesn’t make it easy for parents but I’m pleading you do all you can for your precious little ones while you can because that’s all they will remember when you are gone. I still remember my mum making breakfast for me herself everyday before I went to school and how Sunday breakfast was real special. It consisted of sunny side up eggs, bacon, sausage and baked beans…while Saturday morning was akara and pap. Add something extra to their regular meals, do something special, make them look forward to mealtimes, playtime, nap time just get creative.

Making your own hot chocolate will certainly save you money and will also be exciting for most kids because it’s what they see on TV in cartoons like Despicable Me, Rio and it doesn’t have to cost an arm and a leg. Add some marshmallows and you’ll probably win their little hearts, so let’s find out how to make this easy 10 minute recipe!

When I started making my own hot chocolate, ย I was so sure brand was everything so I went a hunting for Hersheys Cocoa Powder but didn’t find so I got Cadbury Cocoa instead. I was suprised I didn’t quite like it, just wasn’t smooth in my mouth. One day I decided to try Susan’s Bakery Cocoa Powderย I had at home and was again suprised but pleasantly this time. Imagine a local brand hitting a spot for me, it was nice, rich and smooth with a strong cocoa taste but not over-powering at all. I guess I’m just a local chic despite hot chocolate being ajebo-ish my local roots shame me, Lol! I don’t mind because no one can excuse away the recipe based on unavailability of an ingredient so here goes….

Ingredients : ( makes 500g)

1 1/2 cups Susan’s Bakery Cocoa Powder

2 cups milk powder

2 cups brown sugar

2 teaspoons cornflour *optional

1 teaspoon salt

DSCN1838

Method:

Measure out all the ingredients into a clean dry bowl and mix using a dry whisk or fork until well incorporated.

DSCN1910

DSCN1912

Pour into an air tight container.

Boil 1 cup of water, add 2 tablespoons of hot chocolate mix, stir well, top with 2 marshmallows split in half and your life is perfect! ๐Ÿ˜€

DSCN1921

DSCN1934

DSCN1955

IMG_20140801_124201

DSCN1940-1-1

Azu ๐Ÿ™‚ .

 

***Note: you can use 1 cup of Susan’s Cocoa Powder and 1/2 cup Cardbury Cocoa if you prefer, skimmed milk powder or low fat milk powder will work too, either way the hot chocolate mix will turn out right ๐Ÿ™‚ .