Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

DSCN1740

Happy Sallah everyone!

Lagos has been really cool, been enjoying the weather, I love it when it rains so long as I’m not getting wet,  lol. Long weekend is over and many of us have hopefully rested and are back to work today. I took Monday off to rest as well 🙂 , hope we didn’t miss me too much.

Last week Monday I shared a personal experience about how okra helps heal ulcer because of its mucilaginous nature. Most times when I cook okra I prefer to slice them because I like crunchy chunks but the soup won’t draw so much. However when grated, okra draws so much it could pass as ogbono soup which I think is better when cooked for ulcer.

I decided to demonstrate it with a simple okra and stew recipe which is very common, not a fan of this style though, I prefer my good ol’ okra soup loaded with palm oil and smoked fish 😀 . Please note that the pepper content of this soup should be reduced in half if cooked to help heal ulcer, my pepper tolerance is above normal so no follow me…. 🙂 .

Let’s go there…..

Ingredients : ( serves 4 )

1 cup fresh okra

2/3 bulbs fresh pepper

1 fresh Cameroon pepper *optional

1/2 small onion

1/2 cup water

1 Maggi crayfish cube

Salt to taste

DSCN1738

Method :

Wash the okra and grater using the smallest part of the grater, set aside.

DSCN1742

Chop up the onions and the pepper, set aside.

DSCN1746

In a small pot, add the water and Maggi cube.  Once it boils and cube is dissolved add the okra, chopped onions and pepper.

DSCN1747

Allow soup boil then stir vigorously to incorporate all the ingredients. The soup will most likely be very thick, add water to loosen it up to your taste.

DSCN1752

Check for salt, let it boil another 3 minutes. All in all it shouldn’t stay on the fire for more than 10 minutes so the soup stays nice and green.

Enjoy with stew.

DSCN1756

DSCN1762

DSCN1768

DSCN1780

 

Join me in August for summer recipes!

Azu 🙂 .