Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi people!

Agaracha is back, Lol! Been a hectic 2 weeks, learning basics in photography and making new friends. I really had fun and suddenly re-ignited my love for nature, while most of the photography class were busy taking potraits my friend Dami and I went into the garden and took pictures of flowers, ants sucking nectar and of one beautiful snail holding on to a flower.

It was easy to get inspired to do more when you have seasoned photographers like Leke Adenuga, Sarah Ogunbor, Seun Akisanmi of Elo Photos, Duduguy, Micheal of Nobis Photography and Tunji of Fresh Muse Media share their stories with you, they poured out knowledge worth more than a 2 week training required and made the technical aspects of cameras real easy.  I’m using this opportunity to thank them and pray that God will pour out such a blessing on them, they won’t have enough room to contain them.

DSCN0189 DSCN0199 DSCN0218

Still honing my newly acquired skills, learning to build a photographer’s eye and take shots with steady hands, it takes owning a camera to realise I love nature…actually always have just having the opportunity to capture it.

I also took food pictures so don’t worry! Today’s recipe is one of them!

May/June focused on meat seasonings and meaty dishes, I got busy along the way and haven’t shared as many recipes as I had intended. Tomorrow marks the beginning of a new month, I will share other recipes and add the remaining meat recipes inbetween them.

I created todays recipe as far back as 2012, it was one of our Friday night meals. My husband and I ate it with chips while watching a really nice movie 🙂 . I was suprised to come across it in a cookbook as Chicken Goujons, I tell you there’s almost nothing new under the sun Lol, someone somewhere at some point has a similar recipe and calls it by their native tongue, I sha call it chicken strips and here’s my take on it.

Ingredients : ( serves 2 )

2 chicken fillets (Shoprite )

1 large egg

1/2 cup fresh homemade breadcrumbs

1/2 cup flour

1  1/2 tablespoons fresh garlic and ginger mix

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon ground coriander

1/2 tablespoon chilli flakes

1 Maggi cube

1/4 teaspoon salt

Vegetable oil for deep frying

Garnishing:

Lemon

Parsley *optional

DSCN0521

Method :

Cut the chicken into 1/2 inch strips,  season with Maggi cube,  salt and garlic/ginger mix. Set aside in the fridge to marinate for 2 hours.

DSCN0536

Add the spices into the breadcrumbs and mix well.

In a small tray or a flat dish, pour the flour. Pour the spiced breadcrumbs into another dish and beat the egg in a seperate bowl. So we are dealing with 3 separate plates and dips for the chicken.

DSCN0566

Take the  chicken out of the fridge and let it return to room temperature.  Roll a strip at a time in flour, dip into the egg then roll in the breadcrumbs one strip at a time.

DSCN0567

Continue this process until all the chicken strips are covered.

DSCN0576

Heat the oil until a piece of chicken dropped in rises to the surface almost immediately.

DSCN0579

Fry the strips in batches until golden brown. Strain on kitchen napkins.

DSCN0602

Serve hot with half a lemon, chips and ketchup or hot sauce.

Enjoy!

DSCN0644

DSCN0604

DSCN0606

DSCN0650

DSCN0663

DSCN0665

Have a great week ahead!

Azu 🙂 .

**Notes: In absence of chicken fillet, you can use chicken breasts after removing all the bone.