Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It’s golden melon season again!

20140614_212135

Let me start by confessing my sins 😦 . I haven’t posted anything new in over a week, initially I was busy but in all honesty I needed a time out. Creating different meaty flavours hasn’t been easy and though I still have a few more meat dishes lined up, I just needed to take a break. I didn’t want to churn out recipes from a tired mind, so I have just been thinking,  planning, eating junk, re-strategising and doing other blog improvement related activities.  The blogs one year anniversary is next week and I have been thinking about how far God has brought me, faithfully every week I have posted something new, hasn’t been easy and I’m really thankful.

Okay enough sugar dripping for one day Lol! , I will save the story of how I started for next week please stay tuned, you’ll be amazed at how far God has brought me and how amazingly my husband has supported me through it all….I thought I said enough sugar dripping 🙂 ! Guess I have alot to be thankful for but to the order of the day-Golden Honeydew Melon. They are back in season and I want to share my latest discovery.

When I shared the goodness of this melon last year, I felt since it was in the melon family pairing it with water melon was a perfect combo but I beg to differ. Pineapple happens to be golden melons best friend, why? Because pineapple sweetens the golden melon juice while allowing its lovely honeydew flavour to come through. I picked very ripe queen pineapple which is regular pineapple, I didn’t use Badgary pineapple like I normally do because I needed the sweetness it gives.

Real simple, real easy and real quick. It’s healthy, it’s vegan and totally yummy!

Ingredients :

1 medium golden honeydew melon

1 thick slice pineapple

3 ripe bananas

Ice *optional

20140614_141946

Very ripe, juicy and sweet

Very ripe, juicy and sweet

Method :

Wash the golden melon, peel and cut into small cubes. Peel pineapple and banana, also cut into small pieces this helps all the fruit puree at the same time without any remaining as lumps.

20140614_143959

Combine golden melon, pineapple and ice if using in a smoothie blender or a clean non-ogiri smelling blender and pulse for 4-5 minutes until smooth. Once the pineapple is smooth enough add the banana and pulse for a minute or two.

Now enjoy chilled!

1402834834468-1

1402834822499-1

 

1402834816043-1

1402834818813-1

See you Monday!

Azu 🙂 .