Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

20140116_130222

Hello there!

January is about rounding up along with the low calorie healthy recipes but I’m seriously considering a diet, I have had so much fun, unfortunately I don’t have the weight to pull off a diet! You saw my picture at the Knorr Unveil if I go on a diet I will disappear 🙂 .

Todays smoothie was supposed to be called a red smoothie to rhyme with the red juice I will share next week, I used beetroot and was so sure it will give me a red drink….instead it turned into a beautiful purple/violet smoothie that I couldn’t have enough of!

Very simple ingredients one of which is beetroot considered to be a Superfood because of its various benefits:

Rich in iron, vitamins C and A.

Rich in fibre which helps with bowel movement and safe guards the colon against cancer.

High in anti-oxidants and minerals such as magnesium,  potassium,  phosphorus and calcium.

Contains anti aging properties.

Remember most of the smoothies and juices shared on the blog can be combined in different ways using your preferred fruits.

This one has beetroot as its main ingredient,  every other fruit can be altered to your taste. Most people add honey to smoothies, for me if it’s meant to be healthy I stay off sugars, the pineapple here acts as the sweetener.

Now lets try!

Ingredients : ( serves 4 )

1 large beetroot

Small bunch seedless red grapes

1 large banana

5 baby carrots

2 half inch slices of pineapple

1/4 cup of water

20140116_130649-1

Method:

Wash the beetroot properly, peel and chop into tiny pieces to make blending easy.

Combine all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth and creamy.

Pour into glasses, garnish with mint leaves.

20140116_204142

 

20140116_204921

 

20140116_135913

Enjoy!

Azu 🙂 .