Tags

, , , , , , , ,

20140104_154536-1

First things first. I promised healthy recipes this month but before we get into anything with vegetables and salt lets cleanse our system of all the ice-cream, cake and plenty fatty meats 😉 . So today’s recipe is very straight forward, and I beg you, whatever you do please try out this recipe, very easy and it tastes better than you’d expect considering its core ingredient.

Based on an article I found in Vanguard Newspaper, Ugu (pumpkin leaves) slows down aging process (aha! I can see all the ladies in the house go goey eyed 😀 ). It contains anti-oxidants alpha-carotene and Beta–carotene which help to slow down ageing process. It’s also a good source of vitamin E,  Thiamin, Niacin, vitamin B6, Folate, Iron, magnesium and phosphorus, and a very good source of dietary fibre, vitamin A, vitamin C, riboflavin, potassium, Copper and Manganese.

Most churches fast 1st quater of every new year, I advice you add this to your meal when breaking in the evening or drink last thing at night because it soothes, usually helps me sleep better, can’t understand why but it does 🙂 .

Ugu works as the base for this green juice but you can add any other thing to it such as mint leaves, carrots, cucumber,  garlic, scent leaf (nchu anwu) and can replace the apple with pineapple.  Ugu doesn’t have a very pleasant taste so whatever you do please add a sweet fruit, the apple in this version kills the sharp Ugu taste and sweetens it a little.

20140105_192145

One time I was so anxious to drink it, I didn’t have apples so I went ahead and juiced only Ugu and ginger, oh dear! I felt sorry for my tongue that day, I took for granted what the apple did to the Ugu, I have experimented on your behalf, you don’t have to 🙂 .

Now on to the recipe!

Ingredients : ( serves 2 )

5 fresh Ugu leaves ( pumpkin leaves )

2 green apples

Medium sized fresh ginger

2 cups cold water

20140105_185441

Method:

Wash Ugu serveral times with salt to rid it of sand and insecticide.

Core the apple, peel the ginger.

Combine all three ingredients in a juicer. Pour water through the juicer to get all the nutrients out.

Serve immediately or chill for 1 hour.

20140105_192216

 

20140105_192308

 

20140105_192145

Enjoy!

Azu 🙂 .

*if you are using a blender, add the water to the ingredients, blend then seive afterwards.