Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

Today 23rd September is my birthday yay! I turned 16! and nothing you think or say in your mind will change that :-P.

Sunday was my family New yam eating day and what better way to celebrate than with family. It’s a tradition common among Ibo people especially Anambra state. It’s called Ili ji which means eating New Yam officially. In Nnewi it’s a big celebration, because it’s celebrating the years harvest.

Organised by my oldest Aunt here in Lagos, we gather together around this time every year, thank God for life, love, family and food then deal with the different versions of yam Lol!. It’s the one time we can all sit as a family, catch up on each other because most times that might be the only time we get to see one another, you know how Lagos is!

We had so much to eat, l had a take-away bag of soup, chicken, fish and a few other things that I can neither disclose nor display pictures of for security reasons ;-).

Enjoy this picture loaded post!

Image

My Beau and I

Image

Official ceremony opener- Oji na Ose Orji

Image

Ji mmili oku

Image

Image

Pounded yam and Egusi

Image

Image

Image

Image

Roasted yam served with Utazi leaf, palm oil and Upkaka

Image

Image

Barbecued fish

Image

Barbecued chicken

Image

Ofe Nsala

Image

Hot dogs for kids

Image

Burger for kids

Image

Too overwhelmed to title it πŸ™‚

Image

Asun

Image

Abacha (African salad)

Image

Naturally there was palm wine

Image

And other kinds of wine

Image

The clan

Image

Cute little Chineme trying to blow bubbles

Image

Dami & Bobo

Image

Sunday was also a cousins birthday

Image

Birthday girl

Image

Beauriful cousins- Peju, Ngozi, Chioma and Joy

Image

Beau and Chika

Image

More Beauriful cousins- Beau, Chinelo, Obinna and Chika

Image

Ah! Sister, longtime no see!

Image

Kano Mummy, flew in from Abuja to be with us! :-).

Later that day I hosted some house fellowship members.

Image

Peppered turkey wings – recipe on Friday :-).

Image

Caramel popcornΒ http://wp.me/p3Bd7A-csImage

Chocolate brownie cupcakes-recipe coming soon πŸ™‚

Image

Tropical Chapman- recipe not coming soon :-p

Image

Chocolate chip ice-cream- recipe definitely coming soon πŸ˜€

What I did on my special day after struggling to upload this post several times…naturally chopped and almost quenched! :-).

Image

Image

Image

And then I rewarded myself with this winner!

Image

Image

From us with love!

Join me on Friday for this weeks recipe!

Azu :-).