Tags

, , , ,

Boiled white skin groundnuts

Boiled white skin groundnuts

I’m sure we all know groundnuts are in season and probably use them as traffic pass time.  I do!

I can’t remember a time I didn’t love eating boiled groundnuts especially.  Maybe because I grew up in the north, it’s one of the staples you find there. Growing up, after school most days, when I’m done with my lunch, had my siesta and done my homework, my mum would give me 50kobo for groundnut as a good girl concerned :-)! I would run out with my little legs and stand by the gate waiting for a groundnut seller to pass by!

The joy when I finally saw a vendor in the distance walking towards me with her tray of goodies…lol! Suddenly the hour long wait was worth it as I buy 2 milk tins for 20 kobo each. I’d save the remaining 10Kobo and buy either Alewa (locally made sweets) or add it to my next 50kobo pocket money and buy 3 whole tins!  Who knows, maybe that’s why I’ve super oily skin because I ate a lot of it growing up! But hei I’ve read having shiny face has it’s advantages as people with oily face hardly have wrinkles as they get older :-). Back to the reason of this post…

Peanuts are healthy no matter what anyone says, only problem is some people react to it either by way of peanut allergies or having pimple outbreaks. Though for the latter reaction, I would assume that eating really small quantities at a time might help. If it makes no difference, then a heartfelt sorry goes out to all who can’t enjoy these little wonders.

Peanuts contain fibre and healthy oils that are heart friendly also known as monounsaturated fats, it’s highly recommended because though oily, they don’t clog or form cholesterol around the arteries.

It contains vitamin E and selenium which are both anti-oxidants and it’s content is especially increased when roasted. These help in getting rid of free radicals, protects the skin and also reduces the risk of colon cancer.

As a high energy oil rich legume, peanuts make great snacks when watching your weight because they tend to leave you feeling full thereby reducing consumption of additional food by suppressing hunger and increasing metabolism.

In addition to all the benefits stated above, here’s what you get with every portion of groundnut you consume either boiled, roasted or as peanut butter.

Magnesium: Helps prevent stroke, helps the heart beat normally, regulates blood sugar and promotes normal blood pressure.

Folate: Helps prevent heart disease and also good for pregnant women.

Niacin: Protects against Alzheimer’s disease.

Manganese: Breaks down glucose and increases metabolism.

The oil content of groundnut lies mostly in the skin and these benefits apply to all types of groundnuts generally. Though most of the benefits apply to the red skin ones, the type we find here in Lagos and Benin areas.

Growing up I loved the ones found in the north (that was the only one I knew 🙂 ), It is white skinned, boiled and then roasted a little. This made the nuts chewy -I loved it! Now, I prefer the red ones, they taste richer to me and are more filling. Last time I visited the north I didn’t enjoy the white ones as much :-(.

There isn’t much difference nutrient wise in boiled and roasted ground nuts except that the fat content of the boiled one is reduced by half. It definitely has more flavour roasted so here are a few suggestions for roasted peanuts, peanut butter and boiled peanuts.

One of the most popular use in these parts – ljebu garri and groundnut 🙂

ljebu garri and groundnuts

ljebu garri and groundnuts

As a spread on bread or buscuits

20130729_160348

As Kuli kuli, a Hausa snack made from fried groundnut paste

20130729_180111

Roasted peanuts eaten with garden eggs as a snack or on informal occasions

20130729_160654

If you are from my part of the country -you must serve locally made peanut butter and garden eggs to guests, visitors, well wishers, practically everyone that comes into your home for whatever reason- meetings, traditional wedding ( especially), church weddings, funerals, condolence visits. One cannot go without the other, you can’t serve garden eggs alone and you definitely can’t serve only peanut butter :-).

Orji na Ose Orji

Orji na Ose Orji

Garden eggs though called Aghyala, is called Orji when it’s used on special occasions while the only name for peanut butter in Ibo land is Ose Orji literally translated- garden egg pepper( garden egg accompaniment). So you see though originally grown in South America, It was found by Portuguese and Spanish explorers who brought it along with them to Africa! Thanks to them because peanuts are here to stay especially in Ibo land!

My all time favourite- boiled groudnuts. You can never go wrong with these. Eaten at least 2 or 3 times a week should be fine. Everything in moderation right? Right!

Boiled redskin groundnut

Boiled redskin groundnut

In the near future I will share two groundnut recipes hopefully before it goes out of season :-D.

A desert called kunun G’eda, a Hausa dish of rice and groudnut pudding, very nice!

Groundnut soup which is popular as well.

In the mean time please enjoy groundnuts boiled, roasted or as spreads.

Azu 🙂