Tags

, , ,

The raining season brings with it a lot of my favourite fruits and vegetables. Top on my list is corn which I’m sure a lot of us love too! It’s most common variety is boiled and roasted forms, but it can be made into a number of dishes.

Asalu

Asalu

Asalu, popularly known as beans and corn porridge is a must eat this season! It’s an easy meal to prepare, very similar to your regular beans porridge only difference is the corn addition. Take advantage of the corn season and enjoy this great meal!.

I ate it a lot growing up and still enjoy it now. All you need is:

3 cups of beans

3 cups of fresh corn

2 bulbs of fresh pepper

2 bulbs of fresh Cameroon pepper (yellow pepper) also in season so enjoy!

2 medium sized onions

2 cooking spoons of palm oil

2 Maggi crayfish cubes

1 Maggi cube

Salt

20130605_160706

After picking and washing the beans add one chopped up onion, 1 Maggi cube and boil.

When the beans is halfway done, add the picked corn, oil, Maggi cubes, pepper and onions.

Add water as you like, I like my beans soft and somewhat watery. The picture was achieved because I allowed the beans get cold for photography purposes but you can still tell the beans is soft.

Keep monitoring the beans, check for salt and as soon as it’s as soft as you want it, you are ready to enjoy it with fried plantain or Ijebu garri!

*Tip: you could add a spoon of stew if you like but keeping the ingredients in your beans porridge as little as possible makes it soft, light and maintain the beans flavour.

Growing up I never liked beans porridge because my Mum being a wonderful cook, added dry fish, crayfish and vegetables sometimes. It was a struggle getting me to eat beans, maybe that’s why I didn’t grow tall! 🙂 This went on for a while till we came to Lagos on vacation one time and my Aunt in Festac gave me beans porridge and I gobbled it up! My Mum was shocked, my Aunt went on to explain kids prefer simple beans but I think I just liked my beans that way because even as an adult I can’t eat it any other way.

But hei! Enjoy it as you wish, add whatever you like, I have just shared with you the basic recipe.

😀 Bon appetit!